RSS

Marketers work and so does marketing

02 Feb

If you are one of those people that hate marketeers, I have a message for you: you have created us. The only thing we strife for is to get the message of the product across to you. We analyse what works and go from there. It’s your own fault that the things that work are not always the ones you like.

This may seem like a bold statement and it really is. Lately, I’ve been pondering why we do what we do if most people seem to hate it. The answer is really simple: because marketing works.

The people that read this blog might have picked up on the undertone that I’m not really a marketeer in the traditional way. I suspect that there are many more like me. I kind of rolled into this business and it stuck with me. Whether I like it or not, I became a marketeer over time.

People see us as sharks that will do anything to enforce the message upon you and sell the product. Where this is generally the goal of a campaign, it is not always the case. The place where I’m working now has a good product and I believe in it. Why I do what I do here is not about the hard sale. It’s about letting people know that our product is out there, that it really is better than the competitor and that it can improve their lives. It all might sound a little goody two shoes but I can assure you it’s true. That is why I went from working for an agency to working for the manufacturer.

Now the next question is: why is marketing so important for a company. Most people hate marketing, hate marketers, hate the way we convey the message. Again, the same answer: marketing works. Why does it work: because you let it.

By letting the message get through to you, you give in to the goal every marketer sets out to achieve: to spread the message to all targeted consumers. We inform you of our product and of the benefits for you personally or your company. We even make it more profitable for you to buy it when there is a special campaign going on. There is no gun pointed at your head. No one is going to die if you don’t buy. In my case, we don’t even bash the competitor. So no one is forcing you to buy our product.

If you have a problem in your life that can be resolved by buying a product, you can do research into it and make a well-considered purchase. Think carefully: how often do you do this? Not that much I reckon. When there is a lot of money involved: yes but most of the time, you just think of the most known products that can fill in the gap. If that product happens to be the one I’m marketing, than I have done my job well.

So don’t bash on marketers that just want to give you the information you need to improve your lives. We are just trying to make a living and as long as you let us, we will continue to do so.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in Advertising, internet, Marketing, My 2 cents

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
