RSS

Markething 1

21 Aug

This is my first post ever on this blog, so I’m trying to make it a good one.

Enjoy.

For years I have been bottling up some things to say about the marketing sector. I am not trying to discredit anyone or anything. I am just telling you my opinion about it. There are a lot of upsides and downsides on working in this sector. For my first blog, it’s a downside that I chose.

One of the things that annoys me a lot is that some marketeers have lost touch of what marketing really is.

On the net I found this definition:

“Marketing is the process of planning and executing the conception, pricing, promotion, and distribution of ideas, goods, services, organizations, and events to create and maintain relationships that will satisfy individual and organizational objectives.”

This is a very nice way of saying: clients have a product and it’s your job to sell at any cost, no matter what the product is. In such a competitive market, any product will do.

I have a little anecdote about this:
I was executive on a campaign for a very large soda company. The competitor came out with a rivaling product and we needed to find a way to say “hey, we’ve been selling this product for years now, but go ahead and try to sell some things too”. As you can imagine, there are some different flavors of the soda: light, regular, no sugar, no caffeine, no taste, …
So my former boss gathers practically everyone of the company (about 10 people) together for a brainstorm. We start. It’s going ok. And then, an hour into the brainstorm, a bombshell drops: He has the nerve to ask what the difference is between the no sugar soda – which we are trying to sell- and the light soda. No one but me had the answer…
At that moment it dawned on me that no one in the company has any idea of what they are doing. They were all so busy trying to find new ways of getting a product noticed by the potential customer that they forgot about the product itself.

Here’s what’s my definition of marketing:
Getting the right product to the right person at the right price.
That’s it. No more, no less. Don’t try to enforce brands, logo’s, feelings, images and connotations on everybody. Just get the product in the hands of the people who want it.

Thanks for reading the first of many rants.
If you have an opinion, don’t hesitate to share it!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2008 in My 2 cents

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
